How to delete a Cash App account? Follow these simple steps
- Launch Cash App
- Tap On your “Profile”
- Select Support
- Tap on “Something Else”
- Hit “Account Settings”
- Select “Close Your Account”
- Hit Confirm to delete your Cash App Account
If you want to close your account permanently or you want to delete your personal data on Cash App, You can do it easily. Read on to see the visual guide on how to delete a Cash App account.
Cash App allows its user to delete the account instantly, you can delete your account for any reason, Sometimes your want to delete Cash App transaction history, and sometimes you just want to switch to another payment platform.
In any case, you can easily delete a Cash App account.
What Happens to Your Data When You Delete a Cash App Account?
Cash App keeps the data of the users safe, all of your personal information and transaction history is encrypted by Cash App so no one can breach your privacy (Other than Cash App itself, Read about recent Cash App Data Breach).
Your transactions are encrypted and only you have the access to them. So if someone wants to delete his Cash App account, and is worried about his transaction history or financial information, I have good news.
All of your personal and financial data will be permanently erased from the Cash App servers. When users delete a Cash App account, they ultimately delete everything associated with the account.
How to Reactivate a Deleted Cash App Account?
When you delete a Cash App account, Cash App will also deactivate your Cash Card and your $cashtag will be deleted too. So if you have a change of mind later and you are thinking of reactive the deleted account. Leave it.
It is not possible to reactivate a deleted Cash App account, You might love your old $cashtag but unfortunately, you can’t get it back. So think twice if you are going to delete your Cash App Account.
How to Delete A Cash App Account- Step-by-Step
You can delete a Cash App account for any reason, this method will help you delete your Cash App account no matter whether you are an iPhone user or an Android user. Just follow these simple steps to delete a Cash App account permanently.
Step 1- Launch Cash App
Step 2- Tap on your “Profile” icon located at the top right corner of the home screen
Step 3- Select “Support” from the menu
Step 4- Choose “Something Else”
Step 5- Tap on “Account Settings”
Step 6- Tap on “Close Cash App Account”
Step 7- Tap “Confirm” to permanently delete a Cash App account.
This will delete your Cash App account permanently, you won’t be able to access it again, and all of the data associated with your Cash App account will be removed.
Things to Consider Before You Delete A Cash App Account
You will lose all of your transaction histories on Cash App, All of your personal data and statements will also be lost, You will not be able to use the same email to create a new Cash App account.
So there are a few things that you must consider before deleting a Cash App account permanently.
- Make sure that you do not have money in your Cash App Wallet
- Download your transaction history, so that you can use it to file your taxes or just to keep a record
- Check the pros, Cons, and fees of the new platform that you are gonna use
I will also highlight the steps to transfer your funds and download your transaction history before deleting a Cash App account.
How to Transfer Money Before Deleting a Cash App Account?
You don’t want to delete your Cash App account with the money in it, of course, you don’t want to give this money to Cash App, so you should transfer every single penny, Use the Cash Out on Cash App to deposit money to your bank account.
- Launch Cash App
- Tap on the “Banking” or the “Balance” tab
- Tap on “Cash Out”
- Enter the amount that you want to transfer to your bank account
- Choose the speed of transaction (Instant or standard)
- Hit Confirm to transfer the funds
Now if you choose the standard deposit, it will be free but you have to wait for the money to hit your bank account, as standard deposits on Cash App take 1-3 business days.
This might also cause a delay in your decision to delete the Cash App account because you need to wait for at least three days. However, if you choose the instant deposit you can get the money right away by paying a small fee.
How to Download Cash App Statement Before Deleting A Cash App Account?
Cash App keeps a record of your Payment history, and the transactions that you have made. You can download it in the form of a Cash App statement. It is wise to download your payment history before you delete the Cash App account.
Here is how you can download the Cash App statement
- Go to Cash App’s Official Website by Clicking here
- Sign in to your Account
- Click “Settings“
- Then click on “Download Your Info” under your info
- Click “Activity” to view your complete payment history
- Select “Statements“
- Choose “Export” to download your payment history
Once you have downloaded the payment history and you have transferred the funds out of Cash App, you are ready to delete your Cash App account permanently.
This was a very precise guide on how to delete a Cash App account, I hope it helped you and you got the job done. Keep in mind that once you delete your Cash App account you won’t be able to reactivate it.
Before deleting a Cash App account, make sure that you have transferred the money from your Cash App wallet to your bank account. If you have any questions you can ask them in the comments below.